Without A Place To Call Home

Hey guys! I haven’t really been able to post like I have wanted to, but I definitely have a good reason. Did you know that the number of homeless mothers, children, fathers, and elderly is on the rise? And would you believe me if I told you that many of them are not on the streets because they want to be or because they are even an addict. I know this for myself because me and my children are apart of this rapid growing in numbers. Trust me, I don’t want to be homeless with my kids especially. Luckily for us we have found a shelter who has even helped us get a new apartment started.

But there are many people out there in the world who do not have this jumpstart. There is always a lack of shelters especially if you have children. And if you find a shelter there is usually a month or longer of a waiting list unless you get lucky. This is really shocking to me. When I tried finding a shelter I had to call so many places and still had to wait a few days. There are so many homeless people and there is not enough people who are willing to help. Most people write them off as lazy, bums, drunks, ect. To me that is very cruel. We can’t turn the other cheek because they are homeless. Yet so many people everyday pass these people with their noses in the air. It saddens my heart to the core. We all need to be there for each other trying to make a change together. We need more shelters for these people to have a jumpstart and try to have a better quality of life. Most of these people can’t get jobs because they don’t have any identification from being robbed, can’t take care of hygiene for the workplace because they have nowhere to shower or sleep. Homeless people are kicked to the dirt everyday because people like to think they are better than others. People, look up the numbers! There is something wrong here. How would you feel if you went from having a good job and then got laid off? Eventually your bills couldn’t get paid, you get stressed and depressed, you don’t know how to feed yourself or your kids even. Then, you are sleeping in a car cause your house was foreclosed. And finally, you are homeless. That is the poor reality a lot of people live in. Wouldn’t you like to have a place; a shelter to go to if that happens?

So listen, next time you see that homeless person or family on the side of the road try doing something nice for them. Maybe you can even point them to a homeless shelter. And if you discover they have a drug or alcohol problem help them still, point them to a rehab or a local NA or AA meeting. We are all human on this world, no one is better than the other. People need to open their hearts and more doors for these homeless families, men, and women. And you want to know something? I’m here with a lady who is elderly and is on oxygen and is homeless. If she did not find a shelter she would probably be dead from the heat in this Tennessee summer. Thank God for places like this, it just saddens me that there is not enough resources in this time of need. But the good news is she got her apartment today and she will be moving out into her new home in a few days. She finally has a place to call home after a year.

This is what keeps people moving and helps the world go around. I am grateful for the shelter I have found. And my only hope is that in the future people will see that they are not so different from that person on the corner. We all need to help and open our hearts cause you never know you might just save their life.

Here is a goal I want to give you. Do a small act of kindness for someone in need. It could be as simple as giving them a hug or just show in a way that someone cares.

476557cf00b0292de597b2ca2e6475a3--protest-signs-homeless-people

This is Allie signing off.. Thanks and Goodnight.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑